## The MARYL FLETCHER DEJONG SERVICE AWARD

The **Maryl Fletcher DeJong Service Award** is given annually to honor an individual in the field of art education who has made noteworthy service contributions to art education as an advocate of equity for women and all people who encounter injustice.

## **ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA:**

- This individual contributes outstanding service of community, state, national, or international significance that contributes to eliminating discriminatory gender and other stereotyping practices for individuals and groups.
- The current president and president-elect of the Executive Board of the NAEA Women's Caucus may not be nominated.
- Current membership of nominee in NAEA.

**NOMINATION PROCESS:** Nominations may be submitted by any member of the NAEA. The nomination announcement will appear in the NAEA News.

## **REQUIRED APPLICATION MATERIALS:**

- Completed WC Award Application (this includes nominator letter and nominee statement)
- Attached Current Vita of the nominee.
- Attached Letters of Support: Three letters of recommendation required.

Extra letters sent to the Chair of the Selection Committee will be returned to the nominator.

**DEADLINE:** Send the nomination packet in digital form as a PDF to the Award Chair by **NOV 15** preceding the NAEA Annual Convention.

## **SELECTION PROCESS:**

- 1. A *six-person selection committee* (five voting members plus a neutral chair) will select the recipient of the *Maryl Fletcher DeJong Service Award.*
- 2. The selection committee will include as one of its members, the President of the Women's Caucus.
- 3. Other *suggested committee members* are as follows: an established art educator, an early professional art educator, an arts administrator
- 4. The *Maryl Fletcher DeJong Service Award* Coordinator (the neutral Chair) is appointed by the Women's Caucus President.
- 5. At least three members of the selection committee should be members of the NAEA Women's Caucus.

The selection committee will make its recommendation to the Women's Caucus Executive Board for affirmation. The announcement of the recipient and the time and place of the award will be announced in the NAEA WC Column in NAEA News and the Web site. If there is no qualified nominee, the Maryl Fletcher De Jong Service Award will not be presented.